9.1 Automatic Share to Project Preference
A new ProjectLink preference is available for Integral PDMLink and ProjectLink installations to enable/disable automatically sharing objects to a project during Windchill client retrievals.
PDM & Process Solutions
|Product / Module||
PTC Arbortext Content Manager
PTC Windchill PDMLink
PTC Windchill ProjectLink
|Product Functional Area||
Pro/ENGINEER Data Management
|User Interface Location|
|Processes, Initiatives, and Best Practices||
Design & Manufacturing Outsourcing
Benefits and Description
The new ProjectLink preference – “Enable Automatic Share to Project” - enables Windchill clients to retrieve dependents on demand by automatically sharing dependent objects to a ProjectLink project. When this preference option is set to Yes, it provides the behavior of previous releases. For a user who has at least Read and Download permissions on the dependents residing in a PDMLink context, the dependent objects are added to the Project’s top folder, added to the user’s workspace and retrieved into the respective Windchill client. When this option is set to No, it disallows the auto share functionality, and the Add to Project UI is the only available means to “share to a project”. The new preference provides companies with more control over ProjectLink environments with the means to restrict how information is shared to a Project.